Author Topic: MC Mechanics - Fuel System Help  (Read 2361 times)

Werewolf

• friend
  • Lead, Follow or Get the HELL out of the WAY!
MC Mechanics - Fuel System Help
« on: July 27, 2005, 04:11:06 AM »
I am not a mechanic. What I know about engines wouldn't fill one written page.

In my cars I normally run a can of fuel system cleaner thru a tank of gas about every 3000 miles or so.

I'd like to do the same on my motorcycle (Honda Shadow 750). Of course I'd only use about a 1/4 can to stay in proportion (full can for 15 gal tank).

I ask because I normally run Mobil 1 in my cars and wanted to do so in my MC. Found out you can't do that. Mobil 1 is too slippery for a bike with a wet clutch. That made me wonder what else might be different.

So can I run carb/fuel system cleaner in an MC or is there something about MC carbs that's different enough from a car's to preclude its use?
Life is short, Break the rules, Forgive quickly, Kiss slowly, Love
truly, Laugh uncontrollably, And never regret anything that made you smile.

Fight Me Online

cfabe

• friend
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2005, 05:46:26 AM »
I don't think there would be any difference in a motorcycle carb that would be different, so it should be safe. I do question the utility of using those cleaners, but that's another issue.

Big_R

• friend
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2005, 06:34:11 AM »
I periodically run some Sea Foam through my motorcycles and had no trouble.  

Ryan

Fatcat

« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2005, 08:53:41 AM »
The fuel cleaner can't hurt anything.

Regarding the oil, I think the general consensus is that as long as the oil isn't stamped "energy conserving", synthetic shouldn't cause any problems. My Dad likes the Shell Rotella 5-40W synthetic and the stuff that AMSOIL sells. YMMV, of course.
"The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continually fearing you will make one."

Morgan

« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2005, 11:49:44 AM »