Author Topic: Advice...  (Read 8049 times)

uvakat

• friend
Advice...
« on: March 15, 2005, 07:28:13 AM »
How did you let your families know about your interest in guns? I tried to let my parents on slowly, but after the reaction I got when I mentioned I went shooting with a bunch of friends, I chickened out of telling them about my new metal babies Wink Add to that most of my cousins are freaked out by the pocket knife much less any weapon I may bring to family gatherings... I know I can't hide my pistols and rifles from the parents forever (I'm a college student), but any advice on how to approach the topic? oh yeah my parents are also pacifists.... They have accepted the fact I have a concealed carry permit but think I only have it to legally cover me if I'm driving my bf's car and there is a concealed pistol in it. They are convinced that their little daughter won't take the last step to becomming a redneck and buying a gun (umm my parents are interesting to say the least and don't like the southern accent I've picked up in college either)
Nothing like a couple hundred rounds down range to make a girl feel better.  

pauli

• http://episteme.arstechnica.com
Advice...
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2005, 07:35:22 AM »
bring home a suitably bullseye'd target and attach it to the front of the refridgerator. attempt to trigger approving parental reflexes by being exuberently proud of your skills.

(my mom is still uncomfortable with me having guns, and made me promise i wasn't going to shoot anybody when i bought my p22. damn, you got me mom.)

Control Group

• http://control-group.livejournal.com
Advice...
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2005, 07:40:53 AM »
In my particular case, I just told them I was buying a gun. Of course, I had no reason to think that they'd disapprove, so it's a bad example (they didn't).