Author Topic: Electromagnetism Question  (Read 3126 times)

Taurus

Electromagnetism Question
« on: March 16, 2005, 08:58:01 PM »
If I have an electromagnet and I want to boost the flux density and its magnetic strength, do I increase the voltage or current through the conductor(s)?

Also ... which makes a more efficient and just overall better electromagnet? AC or DC?

Thanks
J. D. White

BillBlank

• friend
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2005, 11:22:53 PM »
Hmmm, what do you need a powerful electromagnet for? Nosy sods who enjoyed their physics lessons would love to know. Digging out old textbooks as we speak btw Smiley
Just so happens Satan's behind the bar pulling the late shift for a buddy...

DustinD

• I have a title
  • friends
  • I have a personal text message
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2005, 11:34:46 PM »
Keep in mind I am not an expert, just a lay person.

I am not sure about flux density. I think a higher voltage will push the fields out further, but that is just a guess. Maybe rewind the coil to a different shape? Also keep in mind that magnetic strength is equal to distance squared.(twice the distance has only a fourth the magnetic field)

Your limiting factors for current through the conductor will be IR^2 losses(twice the current means four times the losses). Too much current and you will over heat your magnet. For voltage your limiting factor will be insulation(I am guessing enamel?) breaking down due to high voltage combined with high heat, and electric arcing.

As for AC vs DC efficiency. I think DC is slightly more efficient for wattage through a given wire size and type. By that I mean more power can flow through a thinner wire, not that you will loose less power to heat. If the frequency is high, such as 60Hz or more, and you have three or more phases than it does not really matter, as both AC and DC will carry about the same energy.  If you meant energy losses that depends on current, components that you use, and the quality of your electromagnet.