Author Topic: How do you make a good hamburger?  (Read 10677 times)

Sean Smith

How do you make a good hamburger?
« on: April 24, 2005, 04:22:32 PM »
Here is the situation: I'm actually a decent cook, but I can't seem to make a really good hamburger.  I mean, they're OK, but they just don't measure up to what I'm hoping to accomplish.  I've had really good burgers, and mine ain't it.

I've tried 85/15% ground round and 90/10% ground sirloin for the meat.  I'm using fairly high heat, but not overcooking them, and they aren't dried out at all, but they are kind of bland.  I'm not getting that really good beef flavor, even though I'm using the "better" varieties of really fresh ground beef.  In fact, they tend to be kind of watery on the inside... not that nice, flavorful juciness you get in a really good burger, which is different.

I'm sure somebody here is a burger expert.  Give me the scoop.  Cheesy

J.J.

• Just your average
  • friend
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2005, 04:37:08 PM »
I just use a good grade of meat.. atleast 85 usually 90/10.  Sprinkle some Season all (season salt) on it.  a Little gralic, little onion powder and a dash of pepper (do this to both sides). Sometimes knead Worchestershire sauce into the meat...(before adding all of the said flavorings...)   Grill till its cooked to your taste.

Standing Wolf

• friend
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2005, 05:04:16 PM »
Buy some chuck steak. Trim off most of the fat. Chop it or run it through a hand grinder. Grill it over charcoal with mesquite chips. Top with very sharp cheddar cheese, mushrooms, onions, et cetera.

I've used everything from tenderloin to brisket for hamburgers. Chuck steak actually has the best flavor.