Author Topic: The disappearing American grad student in STEM  (Read 1638 times)

MillCreek

• Skippy The Wonder Dog
  • friend
  • APS Risk Manager
The disappearing American grad student in STEM
« on: February 16, 2018, 09:01:53 AM »
https://www.seattletimes.com/explore/special-sections/the-disappearing-american-grad-student/

Two interesting things to me about the article:

1.  The percentage of foreign-born STEM graduate students in the USA;
2.  'STEM' seems to equal only computer science.  Not a word about foreign or native grad students in physics, chemistry, astronomy, biology, mathematics, engineering, etc.

When I was a grad student in chemistry in the early 80's at the UW, there were about 12 people in my program; all of them were native-born, eight were White, three were Asian and one was Black.  10 males and two females.

Quote from: Angel Eyes on August 09, 2018, 01:56:15 AM
You are one lousy risk manager.

Kingcreek

• friend
Re: The disappearing American grad student in STEM
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2018, 09:32:14 AM »
I've heard there is a shortage some areas.
My nephew attended a state university on a full ride math/science scholarship and graduated w dual degrees in chemical engineering and something called material properties. He had 2 short but paid research fellowships as an undergrad. The university begged him to stay and offered a position with research compensation in a grad student program but he had job offers and said he was ready to get out of the university system (and to get a job in the vicinity of his girlfriend).
What we have here is failure to communicate.

MechAg94

• friend
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2018, 11:51:13 AM »