Author Topic: Suggestions for PC anti-virus and utilities?  (Read 743 times)

HankB

• friend
Suggestions for PC anti-virus and utilities?
« on: September 16, 2018, 07:58:54 AM »
I've been using AVG anti-virus and AVG PC-tuneup for a couple of years now on a couple of old (some would say ancient) Dell PCs - one of them an XPS 410 running Windows XP, the other an Alienware R4 running x64 Windows 8.1 professional. But my AVG license is running out in a little over 3 weeks.

AFAIK I've been kept "virus and malware free" by this software, but I have reason to believe the disc scan feature of AVG PC-tuneup buggered up my old XP box, which I figure I'll be replacing soon anyway, as I like having 2 functional PCs in case one craps out and I need to search the web for a solution. (BTW, AVG customer "service" is terrible.)

SO . . . what does the APS community suggest? I see a lot of ads for "PCMATIC.COM" but I'm not knowledgeable enough to separate the reality from the hype on this sort of thing.

Suggestions?
Trump won in 2016. Democrats haven't been so offended since Republicans came along and freed their slaves.
Sometimes I wonder if the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it. - Mark Twain
Government is a broker in pillage, and every election is a sort of advance auction in stolen goods. - H.L. Mencken
Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it. - Mark Twain

HeroHog

• Technical Site Pig
  • Administrator
  • It can ALWAYS get worse!
    • FaceButt Profile
Re: Suggestions for PC anti-virus and utilities?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2018, 09:37:15 AM »
I went to Kaspersky Free.
I might not last very long or be very effective but I'll be a real pain in the ass for a minute!
MOLON LABE!

Hawkmoon

• friend
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2018, 11:10:55 AM »