Author Topic: 2018 version of the search for a good coffee brewer  (Read 2459 times)

MillCreek

• Skippy The Wonder Dog
  • friend
  • APS Risk Manager
2018 version of the search for a good coffee brewer
« on: November 15, 2018, 10:49:17 AM »
Since we were just talking about storing coffee, I thought I would share my experience in buying a new auto drip maker.  So this is how a chemist/home roaster/coffee aficionado did it.  

I have been roasting my own beans since the 1990's, have a Pasquini Livia 90 and Rocky Rancilio for espresso, several presses and a Chemex for pour-over. For the workday mornings when we have to get out the door, I have been using a Capresso MT-500 which was on its last legs. I decided another auto drip was in order. I reviewed all the current high-end makers, but insisted on something with a thermal carafe, brewing temp of 200-205 degrees as per SCAA standards, pre-infusion, made more than 40 ounces of coffee and could brew with a push of a single button, since my wife does not like to fuss with the coffee maker.