Author Topic: TENS Units?  (Read 2878 times)

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
TENS Units?
« on: December 10, 2018, 11:48:20 AM »
Anyone know anything about or have any experience with these TENS muscle stimulators? I see them popping up everywhere and am wondering if they are actually a benefical technology, a fad, or just bunk or what?

Example:

https://www.amazon.com/TENS-7000-Digital-Unit-accessories/dp/B00NCRE4GO/ref=sr_1_4_s_it?s=hpc&ie=UTF8&qid=1544460068&sr=1-4&keywords=tens
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

K Frame

• friend
  • I Am Inimical
Re: TENS Units?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2018, 11:53:22 AM »
I used them when I was an athletic trainer in college. My friend the chiropractor also uses them, and I've been the recipient of tens treatment, as well. For muscular issues, they can really help.
Carbon Monoxide, sucking the life out of idiots, 'tards, and fools since man tamed fire.

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2018, 11:57:02 AM »
I used them when I was an athletic trainer in college. My friend the chiropractor also uses them, and I've been the recipient of tens treatment, as well. For muscular issues, they can really help.

I should add that my interest in them is right up that alley. I'm wondering if they really do help with speeding up healing when I do stupid stuff like strain a hamstring or whatnot.
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

bedlamite

• Hold my beer and watch this!
  • friend
  • Ack! PLBTTPHBT!
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2018, 11:57:43 AM »
When I messed up my knee my physical therapist used one and said it helped break up scar tissue. I don't know if it actually worked that way, but that knee is now better than my other one.
A plan is just a list of things that doesn't happen.
Is defenestration possible through the overton window?