Author Topic: Question for Musicians  (Read 508 times)

makattak

• Dark Lord of the Cis
  • friend
Question for Musicians
« on: March 07, 2019, 02:51:50 PM »
I want to continue to try to learn things as I'm getting older, so I want to start learning the trumpet. (Actually cornet, but from my understanding, they are the same for playing, but have differing sounds and capabilities.... which ranges will be beyond me at first, anyway. It will depend on which instrument I can find.)

Now, I'm a decent/good musician- I can read music, keep time, etc...- so I'm not needing to start from scratch, but I've never played any brass instrument.

After a bit of research I'm hoping to pick up an old F.E. Olds Ambassador Trumpet or Cornet to learn on. (It also satisfies my preference for vintage items, as with guns.)

Are there any trumpet/brass players here with advice for where to start? (Other than stay away from people while learning so as not to be hated.)

Edited because I keep typing: "coronet"
« Last Edit: March 07, 2019, 04:31:12 PM by makattak »
I wish the Ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened.

So do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us. There are other forces at work in this world, Frodo, besides the will of evil. Bilbo was meant to find the Ring. In which case, you also were meant to have it. And that is an encouraging thought

Hawkmoon

• friend
- - - - - - - - - - - - -
100% Politically Incorrect by Design

makattak

• Dark Lord of the Cis
  • friend
Re: Question for Musicians
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2019, 04:30:26 PM »
For a start, it's a "cornet," not a "coronet."

https://www.differencebetween.com/difference-between-trumpet-and-vs-cornet/

https://www.normans.co.uk/blog/2013/10/trumpet-v-cornet/

Thanks, I keep wanting spell it wrong. I'm aware it's not a crown, but my fingers aren't.  :lol: