Author Topic: Computer mouse problem  (Read 690 times)

Hawkmoon

• friend
Computer mouse problem
« on: September 20, 2020, 02:14:46 AM »
I've been using a Dell cordless mouse on my desktop PC for several years. Recently it has started to get wonky -- sometimes clicks don't register at all, other times a single click registers as two clicks. I assume that means the microswitches inside are getting flaky.

Is there any likelihood that spraying the microswitches with electrical contact cleaner through the plunger aperture might rejuvenate the thing, or do I just pronounce the last rites over it and buy a new mouse?
- - - - - - - - - - - - -
100% Politically Incorrect by Design

Kingcreek

• friend
Re: Computer mouse problem
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2020, 04:36:30 AM »
I had one acting wonky and a new battery fixed it.
You can try a cleaner and if that doesn’t do it mice are cheap.
What we have here is failure to communicate.

230RN

• saw it coming.
  • friend
  • ...shall not be allowed.
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2020, 04:52:50 AM »
FWIW, and WRT infra-red remotes, I used a tiny dab of that rear window defroster repair paint (it's a conductor, of course) on a stereo remote once.

But I had to take it apart to get at that surface.   The conductor on the surface does seem to wear with lots of use.  (This was on the volume control, which I hit a lot.)

Not worth doing this for a mouse unless you want the technical experience.

It's not impossible for the debounce circuits to not work properly with a poor switch connection, resulting in two coded pulses to be transmitted.