Author Topic: Guitars  (Read 1652 times)

natedog

• friend
Guitars
« on: June 28, 2005, 03:48:48 PM »
I'm learning to play the guitar now. I've got a no-name brand "youth" acoustic guitar that was my sisters several years ago. It's smaller and lighter than a regular guitar, and I'm learning to play the basics. I'd like to get an electric soon, though. What brands/styles would you reccomend for a beginner? What is the price range I should be looking at? Thanks.

...has left the building.

Guitars
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2005, 05:28:35 PM »
Well you define a few things such as:

What kind of music are you concentrating on now?
What is your price range?
How big are your hands?
Which ones have you played that you liked?

That's just a few off the top of my head. I used to be a tech in a guitar shop and I've been playing for 10 years now.

natedog

• friend
Guitars
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2005, 05:30:36 PM »
Rock
Let's say under $300 (is that doable?)
Large, I can easily weild a double-stack .45
A friend of mine has a Johnson that sounded pretty good to my inexperienced ears.

Guitars
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2005, 06:01:55 PM »
Cool. I'm partial to the Stratocaster basic shape. I've never been able to play my PRS Custom 22 as well as my Fender Mexi-Strat. I'd recommend playing (note I didn't say buy because you might hate them once you grab onto it) the following:

Fender Standard Strat ~$370
Ibanez RG321 ~$275 (This guitar is VERY easy to play, but might not be since your hands are probably bigger than mine)
And lastly an SG style in the Epiphone G-310 ~$250

If I had to do it all over again, I would buy the RG321, Yamaha Handmade classical, and the best Taylor X14CE that I could possibly buy. Go to the shops and try them all, but I think those are three of the best in that price range.

Guitars
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2005, 06:51:27 AM »