Author Topic: Jim Crow at my old high school  (Read 4093 times)

Kyle

Jim Crow at my old high school
« on: November 09, 2007, 11:09:06 AM »
I graduated from this high school in 2005. And I can tell you, im not suprised at somthing this goofy coming out of that circus. If you werent in GT/AP classes, the teachers there were just full-time babysitters. Which is no small feat; it wasnt easy to keep the constant racial tension, gang violence and general delinquency under control.

http://abclocal.go.com/ktrk/story?section=local&id=5751190

(11/08/07 - KTRK/MISSOURI CITY, TX) - It's a high school shocker -- water fountains found labeled for "whites" and "colored." Was it an innocent prank? It's a sign of previous times that is stirring up emotion in Fort Bend County.

The handmade signs were only posted on the wall at Hightower High School for a matter of minutes, but many here feel that being posted for only a matter of seconds is far too long.

Fort Bend ISD police took a photo of the water fountains Wednesday afternoon inside Hightower High School. It's something you might expect to see in the 1960s, not 2007.

Two water fountains each had a handwritten sign above. One read "whites" and the other read "colored."

"Anybody would find that offensive," said Alice Gibson, aunt of a Hightower student. "Wouldn't you?"

"It would be interesting to see what was the kid's motivation," said Robert Ina, father of a Hightower student.

Campus police say they caught a 16-year-old student in the act of hanging the signs. School officials sent a letter home to parents on Thursday describing what had happened. The letter also explained that the teen was cited for allegedly committing a class C misdemeanor for disorderly conduct by an offensive gesture.

Nearly 57% of the students at Hightower High School are African American, and so is the student who stands accused of putting the signs on the wall. Some say that doesn't make this act any less offensive.