Author Topic: "Dr Biden"  (Read 1344 times)

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
"Dr Biden"
« on: December 13, 2020, 08:41:10 AM »
I see there's some big deal in the news right now about "Dr Jill Biden".

I hadn't paid attention before, but she's not a medical doctor. I thought she was because of how she uses her PhD title. Apparently even Whoopi Goldberg on The View thought she was a medical doctor and said she should be made Surgeon General.  :laugh:

Anyway, some guy got cancelled for saying maybe she shouldn't use her title in this way. He was attacked by the left, including by people who made fun of Sebastian Gorka for insisting on "Dr Gorka" (I would make fun too).

Personally, I find it incredibly pretentious. While the fed.gov candy van lured me away from academia before I finished my PhD program, I would never have insisted on being called "doctor" and the vast majority of PhDs I worked with were the same. Many of them put PhD behind their name, often because their employer wanted it know, but otherwise you wouldn't have known they had a PhD just like you don't know if someone has a Masters or Bachelors. The few who insisted on "doctor" outside of specific settings were kinda aholes.

It's a PhD in education, lady.

https://www.foxnews.com/media/wsj-op-ed-on-dr-jill-biden-gets-writer-canceled-by-northwestern-university
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

Ron

• friends
  • Like a tree planted by the rivers of water
    • What I believe ...
Re: "Dr Biden"
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2020, 08:47:51 AM »