Author Topic: Peel the onion  (Read 754 times)

MillCreek

• Skippy The Wonder Dog
  • friend
  • APS Risk Manager
Peel the onion
« on: June 18, 2021, 04:18:48 PM »
https://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/washington-is-the-countrys-worst-offender-when-it-comes-to-using-too-much-jargon/

I have been a hiring manager for many many years, but I have not the faintest what 'peel the onion' or 'thought shower' mean.  I certainly have never put it into a job description or used it in an interview.

Quote from: Angel Eyes on August 09, 2018, 01:56:15 AM
You are one lousy risk manager.

just Warren

• friend
  • My DJ name is Heavy Cream.
Re: Peel the onion
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2021, 05:04:04 PM »
You're no hoopy frood.
Member in Good Standing of the Spontaneous Order of the Invisible Hand.

Bogie

• friend
  • Hunkered in South St. Louis, right by Route 66
    • Third Rate Pundit
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2021, 06:08:16 PM »
Heh... I was once at a an after-work pub meeting with a group of MBAs who were working for a high-dollar consulting company. And they were inventing buzzwords... I think I have been meeting injected with a situation modifier that was born at that thought process conference a time or two...
Blog under construction

Hawkmoon

• friend
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2021, 06:34:45 PM »
"What goes around, comes around," or "There is nothing new under the sun."

https://www.amazon.com/Strictly-Speaking-America-Death-English/dp/1412813271

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1215408.Strictly_Speaking

As much as I enjoyed Strictly Speaking (and its offspring, A Civil Tongue), being in the job market and reading job postings created by people who apparently have university degrees in "Human Resources" leads me to the conclusion that the HR people are light years ahead of the politicians in terms of meaningless drivel posing as sophisticated language.