Author Topic: Racking Your Slide With Your Optic  (Read 850 times)

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
Racking Your Slide With Your Optic
« on: July 04, 2022, 12:16:03 PM »
For discussion:

I'm just getting into putting optics on more of my pistols (two full size FNXs and one P365XL at this point). As I read more stuff and watch more videos, I see a couple of camps forming. One says it's okay (even faster and sort of better) to rack your slide using your optic. The other side says, "Don't do it! You will constantly need to re-zero, or worse, destroy your optic!"

I haven't figured out which is right, or if there is a middle ground. I have seen videos of guys testing optic mounts by "slam racking" a pistol over and over on the corner of say, a table, using the optic to do so. It didn't appear to hurt anything (I would expect optic and slide cut quality both have a lot to do with it).

So far, the way I do it is, if I'm just manipulating the (unloaded, in case that has to be said) gun in the house for cleaning, function tests, dry fire, etc., I will generally  wrap my hand over the optic, but grab the slide. At the range, especially with the smaller P365, I tend to palm the optic. I haven't noticed any POA movement of the dot doing this.

I can see the POV of the "Egads, don't do it!" side given how small the screws holding optics in are. Yet there are still the torture test guys that don't seem to have any problems even after beating the *expletive deleted*it out of the optic.

Thoughts? Opinions?
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

230RN

• saw it coming.
  • friend
  • ...shall not be allowed.
Re: Racking Your Slide With Your Optic
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2022, 12:44:04 PM »
I figure the worst forces occur when the slide slams shut and when it hits the slide stop. If that doesn't disturb the sighting, then neither will racking it with the sights. If it does, it was improperly mounted.