Author Topic: Springfield Hellcat or Sig P365?  (Read 725 times)

AZRedhawk44

• friends
Springfield Hellcat or Sig P365?
« on: July 07, 2021, 03:49:55 PM »
My current micro-compact carry is a Springfield XDs in 45acp.  Been that way for awhile and been content enough with it, but it was chosen back when my primary carry was a Colt LW Commander in .45.  I've been carrying a CZ P-01 Omega for several years now as primary carry and retired the Colt to the safe, and the XDs grip is just a skosh too skinny for my taste, and I'd like to match caliber of my micro-compact with the larger carry gun.  No, I don't typically carry both a micro-compact and a standard size pistol, but I have done so on rare occasions.

Also, I've been testing the waters with a Trijicon RMR on a CZ P-07.  So far I like the sight, but I had reliability problems with my P-07 that required a few trips to the vendor (CZ Custom in Mesa) and back to CZ themselves.  I need to put rounds through this gun to build confidence in it which I have finally decided I will do now that ammo availability is returning, and then it will make its way into carry duty and the P-01 will go into the safe once I'm confident in the P-07.

Which brings me to my question.  Given that I'm looking at transitioning to RMR for my primary pistol, I think I should look into updating my micro-compact carry so that it also has a red dot.  Anyone here have any experience with the Hellcat RDP package, either the Wasp or the SMSc red dot offerings?  Should I just get a Hellcat w/o optic installed and go Trijicon for commonality with my other pistol?  Compensator on the Hellcat:  good idea or no?  I'm not interested in the larger format P365X or XL offerings, does the smallest P365 come in a pre-milled RMR compatible format, with one bundled?  In general, Hellcat vs P365, which do you prefer and why?