Author Topic: ARB roof rack tarps?  (Read 480 times)

AZRedhawk44

• friends
ARB roof rack tarps?
« on: July 05, 2022, 03:22:16 PM »
Anyone here have one or opinions on them?

Thinking about getting a 4x6 for the rear of my Jeep, and possibly also a 6.5x8 for one side of it.  Summer camping season in AZ has monsoon thunderstorms pretty much daily in the mountains. 
"But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist."
--Lysander Spooner

I reject your authoritah!

dogmush

• friend
Re: ARB roof rack tarps?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2022, 04:04:25 PM »
Like a vehicle mounted awning?  Or a tarp for the stuff on your roof rack?

ETA:  If you mean a vehicle mounted awning, I have an OVS 270 degree awning on my truck and highly recommend it.  It's awesome not just in rain, but in hot sun.  I put it up pretty much every time I go camping or picnicking at the beach.  It's a great piece of gear. 
« Last Edit: July 05, 2022, 04:38:53 PM by dogmush »

charby

• Necromancer
  • Administrator
  • APS's Resident Sikh/Muslim
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2022, 04:16:47 PM »
I've used a Kelty Noah's Tarp tied to the roof rack on my truck during downpours. I like the wing type tarps because you can tie them wind doesn't lift them like a fixed canopy.
Iowa- 88% more livable that the rest of the US

Uranus is a gas giant.

Team 444: Member# 536

AZRedhawk44

• friends
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2022, 05:30:14 PM »
Yeah, sorry.  I meant awning.  Words are hard sometimes.   :facepalm:  =D

I was considering a 270 degree one, but it seemed to me that it would be less useful than a square or pair of squares, and also less robust to wind and less customizable to slant rain in a desired direction.  What's your experience with that 270 rig?